Writing

NOVELS

Line Divider

DEVOURERS - cover

THE DEVOURERS

 

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Miéville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST

On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man’s unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger’s behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins.

From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman named Cyrah—and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok’s interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent.

Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel.

 

Find Out More

THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

N. K. Jemisin

“A chilling, gorgeous saga that spans several centuries and many lands . . . The all-too-human characters—including the nonhuman ones—and the dreamlike, recursive plot serve to entrance the reader. . . . There’s no escaping The Devourers. Readers will savor every bite.”

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Starred Review

“Das’s brutal, intoxicating, and gorgeously visceral debut merges an often mythic sensibility with an appreciation for the coarse beauty of the everyday.”

2015 SHAKTI BHATT FIRST BOOK PRIZE

Short-Listed, 2015

2015 TATA LIVE! LITERATURE FIRST BOOK AWARD

Short-Listed, 2015

2016 CRAWFORD AWARD

Short-Listed, 2016

  • Pregnancies, alien planets and loss. Like a punch to the gut.
    Aliette de Bodard, author of the Obsidian and Blood trilogyon "A Moon for the Unborn"
  • One of the most satisfying fantasies to come out of India - or anywhere - in the last 10 years.
    Nilanjana S. Roy, author of The Wildlings and The Hundred Names of Darknesson 'The Devourers'
  • [A] provocative debut novel… Das’ ferociously exact prose pierces through the skin of the fantasy novel to reveal the savage heart of darkness that beats underneath.
    The Asian Ageon 'The Devourers'
  • I like the prose here, the lyrical quality of some of the images. Rather than future-looking, it looks back at the past. The images of spacetime are less SFnal than a metaphor for the branching paths our lives must take, for asking ourselves in hindsight: would I have done the same, knowing the outcome? (RECOMMENDED)
    Lois Tilton, Locus Online on 'Karina Who Kissed Spacetime'
  • [Das] has redefined the modern Indian fantasy novel.
    Vogue Indiaon 'The Devourers'
  • Astonishing... A narrative that takes possession of you and pulls you along in its wake.
    M.R. Carey, author of The Girl With All the Gifts, and DC/Vertigo Comics' Luciferon 'The Devourers'

SHORT STORIES

Line Divider

THE WORLDLESS

LIGHTSPEED MAGAZINE
2017

Every day NuTay watched the starship from their shack, selling satshine and sweet chai to wayfarers on their way to the stars.

Read The Story

BREAKING WATER

TOR.COM
2016

At first, Krishna thought the corpse was Ma Durga herself. A face beneath sun-speckled ripples—to his eyes a drowned idol…

Read The Story

PSYCHOPOMP

INTERFICTIONS ONLINE
2015

I look up at the godhead. The sand is white around my bare feet, a damp seal. There is no horizon . . .

Read The Story

THE MUSES OF SHUYEDAN-18

ASIMOV’S SCIENCE FICTION MAGAZINE
2015

Published in the June 2015 edition of Asimov’s Science Fiction.

Find Out More

THE SUPPLICANT

BLink
2015

The Supplicant looks like a small tree at first glance. A tree shaped like a kneeling humanoid figure . . .

Read the Story

A MOON FOR THE UNBORN

STRANGE HORIZONS
2014

Every night around 1 a.m. Earth-clock, I’d see the shadows of the camp’s dead children on the windows  . . .

Read the Story

THE LITTLE BEGUM

STEAMPUNK WORLD (Alliteration Ink)
2014

Steampunk World is a showcase for 19 authors to invite you to experience the entirety of steampunk.

Find Out More

KARINA WHO KISSED SPACETIME

APEX MAGAZINE
2013

Reprinted in:

The Mary Sue and StarShip Sofa.

Read the Story

THE RUNNER OF n-VAMANA

BLOODCHILDREN: STORIES BY THE OCTAVIA E. BUTLER SCHOLARS (The Carl Brandon Society)
2013

This story was also printed in Mothership: Tales from Afrofuturism and Beyond by Rosarium Publishing.

Find Out More

SITA’S DESCENT

BREAKING THE BOW: SPECULATIVE FICTION BASED ON THE RAMAYANA (Zubaan Books)
2012

Breaking the Bow is a collection of brilliant, original and beautifully told tales, guaranteed to enlighten and entertain.

Find Out More

muo-ka’s CHILD

CLARKESWORLD MAGAZINE
2012

Reprinted in Aliens: Recent Encounters by Prime Books.

Ziara watched her parent, muo-ka, curl up and die, like an insect might on Earth. muo-ka was a giant of a thing, no insect. Ziara was the one who’d always felt like an insect around it . . .

Read the Story

THE WIDOW AND THE XIR

APEX MAGAZINE
2011

Reprinted in The Book of Apex: Vol. 3 by Apex Publications and Soles Series of Stories (eBook) by Upper Rubber Boot Books.

Sanih tries not to scan the shores . . .

Read the Story

EXOGENESIS

NEW SCIENTIST CULTURELAB
2010

Zukhela spread her wings and looked over the lights of Shukra City, star-bright under the blanketed darkness . . .

Read the Story

LOOKING THE LOPAI IN THE EYES

REDSTONE SCIENCE FICTION
2010

Reprinted on The World SF Blog.

Earth almost looks like home, from here . . .

Read the Story

KOLKATA SEA

FLASH FICTION ONLINE
2010

Reprinted on The World SF Blog. A Podcast reading is available by Canadian Fiction Podcast.

Read the Story

OTHER PUBLICATIONS

Line Divider

Film, TV, and Literary Criticism

SLANT MAGAZINE

 

Find Out More

STRANGE HORIZONS

 

Find Out More

VANCOUVER WEEKLY

 

Find Out More

Style Switcher

Layout options
Header options
NOTE: Naked header pages won't use the vertical header